German Feminist Blogs

I initially started this blog because I was dissatisfied with German feminist blogs, mainly due to the fact that I hardly knew any. Sure, this could be my own fault (or Google's fault) – who knows how many awesome blogs are out there that I've never heard of? And if I knew that I'm missing out on enlightening reading experiences, I would be sad.

But back to my first plan; I wanted to create a blog in German language [ironic, isn't it?] that contained articles about topics and was written in a fashion I was interested in. And I drew my inspiration, quite obviously, mainly from the US-American blogosphere.
But there's something which particularly annoys me when reading feminist blogs (no matter which language, but usually they are German): when people who write brilliant articles about interesting topics don't shut impolite, derailing, whining commenters up.

Imagine I read a concise, beautifully written piece and I am interested in what else people have to say and turn to the comment section. But as I am reading along I have to witness that the German author has to explain and re-explain things in the comments that they've already said, never intended to say or that they've never said in the first place – facts and statements that should be quite clear if you didn't read the article with malicious intent.
Nevertheless, these bloggers show the urge to be polite or to explain themselves or to set an example for other commenters – I don't know their motivation and it's not my blog, so I certainly can't make decisions concerning their comment policy, but when I read this kind of comment thread I am disappointed to find misguided and futile arguments and I silently wish the author was more strict.

Maybe it's about German mentality. Maybe, if you don't engage in conversations with people who are quite famous, but who write bullshit nevertheless, you'll never be published/get invited to conferences and hence denied the bigger audience you wish and deserve to reach. Maybe, in a country like Germany, my approach to comment guidelines only makes sense, if you never ever intent to go down well with the public.
It would really be a shame, if crude and stupid comments are the price German bloggers have to pay in order to draw enough attention to their important messages.

But a barely moderated comment section makes a blog less readable for me, that's for sure. Probably because I want to be able to relax in an environment that spreads ideas I appreciate and approve of. Furthermore, in my native language it takes me longer to learn to resist the urge to read what's written in the comment section.
Usually, I know all the websites whose comments are full of hateful shit, but when they are on feminist blogs, I usually read them anyway in the unrealistic hopes that bloggers will have said "Enough already, stop pissing in my front yard!" [This may be the weirdest non-existend English metaphor I've ever used. Please tell me.]
But feminism also means to use your right to enforce boundaries and I'm infuriated that you have to take shit in order to be taken seriously (at least a bit ... in an unfulfilling way). Usually, in a discourse about feminist topics with anyone who isn't even familiar with feminism 101 somehow they are allowed to be insulting, but you should stay sweet and polite.
No wonder my approach to discussions (and comments) differs: I am not willing to communicate with people who will maybe, one day, get what I am talking about. I refuse to explain things again and again that people could learn if they would only fucking educate themselves. It's not my duty to educate anyone.
No one [well, no European citizen...] would expect me to reiterate what happened in Europe after the Middle Ages because that's common knowledge and if you want to know more, go get a book and read it.
So why should I answer basic questions that have been answered time and time again by people who are much more patient than me? Moreover: questions which ignore and deny how our society really works? I don't care whether people are ignorant on purpose or unwittingly. I don't wear a sign that reads: "I am a feminist, ask me unreasonable questions!"

That's why I would be interested in other blogger's (and reader's) take on this. What kind of comments do you allow and why? (Which comment guidelines do you appreciate?) Do you think the discussions in your comments are worthwhile and that they are adding valuable points to the articles' content? Do you think you have to invite the mainstream in order to have the privilege to, some day, be considered mainstream yourself?
Angelika (Gast) - 30. Okt, 20:32

yes and methinks also "healthy/boundaries are healthy" esp./also for soc. feminist blogs.

btw/fyi i use this link to see some blogs
http://women-web.blogspot.com/

as a non-blogga on/in favour of "webiquette" or comment-etiquette i find this helpful
http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/comment-etiquette/

greetz & cheers

Zweisatz - 30. Okt, 20:54

Thanks for the links. I'll have to take some time to get to know the first site.

The comment etiquette-link touches the issues I was talking about in my article, but it's even more important to me that people pay attention to this being a feminist's blog and therefore, no racism, sexism etc. will be allowed. And you CAN be sexist and polite at the same time ... at least in a certain way.
Angelika (Gast) - 30. Okt, 21:41

... and yes, also completely/unfortunately agree with you on "polite AND sexist/racist/etc."

Zweisatz - 30. Okt, 22:08

On the topic in general: It would probably be a good idea to write a post on comment etiquette here myself, but for now, I will just delete unreasonable comments or comments that tick me off in general and let the rest through ;)

Trackback URL:
https://hoc.twoday.net/stories/german-blogs/modTrackback

Aktuelle Beiträge

Böse Männer sind auch...
Alien 3 kenne ich nicht, aber die Masche mit der einen...
Mia (Gast) - 8. Jul, 23:28
"Filme und Medien spiegeln...
"Filme und Medien spiegeln nur die Ansichten der Gesellschaft...
Zweisatz - 6. Jun, 20:44
Die Serie Orphan black...
Die Serie Orphan black ist ein Beispiel, dass es nicht...
Anna (Gast) - 6. Jun, 17:25
Leicht ist es nicht
Ich und zwei meiner Kolleginnen haben im Februar auch...
Onyx (Gast) - 31. Mai, 17:32
endlich
Bin froh, dass auch anderen der Sexismus in der Serie...
Jup (Gast) - 22. Jan, 01:09

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 5114 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 8. Jul, 23:28

Credits